Reply
Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
0

Odd problem with RF-G1185 HDMI switch

I bought this switch at christmas when I bought a new Blueray player for my house. I currently have our Comcast cable box, the Blueray player, an HD DVD player hooked to the switch (in that order, nothing on port 4) and everything seems to work ok. When I shut off the TV and cable box, then turn everything back on, the TV is black until I either 1) switch the HDMI input from 1 to 2 then back to 1 (cable to DVD to cable again) or power off the switch, and turn it back on.

 

Is this normal? Does the switch go "dead" when the HDMI input is shut off? Or should it automatically recognize when the signal is on again, and enable the port that's active?

 

I was hoping for a simple solution that didn't require extra remote controls just to turn the system on and off. We have one master remote that Comcast gives us that handles the TV and cable box, as well as "auxilary" devices... I don't think I can program the Comcast remote to power cycle the HDMI switch.

 

Anything I can do to make this work "invisibly" ?

 

Thanks in advance!

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
0

Echo... echo... echo...

Echo... echo... echo...

Rocketfish Product Specialist
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-13-2012
0

Re: Odd problem with RF-G1185 HDMI switch

Hello slacroix,

When the TV and cable box are off is the RF-G1185 HDMI switch off as well?  If it is off as well I would recommend that you try these steps when powering everything on.

 

  • HDMI switch (press and hold power/select button until power light turns red)
  • TV
  • then your source

 


Regards,
Josh
Rocketfish™ Support

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
0

Re: Odd problem with RF-G1185 HDMI switch

Sorry for slow reply, lost my login info.

The switch stays on. I would prefer not to have to power the switch on and off, I'm trying not to add steps to turning the system on and off, so I would like to.leave the switch on all the time.

Thanks
Rocketfish Product Specialist
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-13-2012
0

Re: Odd problem with RF-G1185 HDMI switch

Slacroix,

What is the make and model of your TV that you have connected to the Rocketfish HDMI switch?  It seems you are having an HDMI handshake issue and some TVs have certain settings to help with this issue.


Regards,
Josh
Rocketfish™ Support

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
0

Re: Odd problem with RF-G1185 HDMI switch

Its an older model widescreen plasma, but I will have to check that when I get home.
Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
0

Re: Odd problem with RF-G1185 HDMI switch

Again, sorry for the slow reply! 

 

The TV is a Sony Bravia

Model Number: KDL-46V2500

 

I did look through the settings and I didn't see anything obvious... but there are a lot of settings in there!

 

Thanks for any help!

-

Scott

Rocketfish Product Specialist
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-13-2012
0

Re: Odd problem with RF-G1185 HDMI switch

Hello slacroix,

After checking the manual for your TV I also did not find anything to help the issue at hand.  Since this appears to be a handshake issue(where two devices hooked up via HDMI attempt to connect to each other and fail. When you switch inputs it causes them to re-handshake) the only thing I can suggest is keeping the HDMI switch on and try powering on the cable box. Let that fully power on and then turn on your TV or vise versa.


Regards,
Josh
Rocketfish™ Support